Mercedes’ Stoffel Vandoorne wins Formula E world title in Seoul

Belgian Stoffel Vandoorne received the Formula E title for the departing Mercedes staff on Sunday as the electrical motor racing championship wrapped up season eight with the a centesimal race of its historical past.

The second of two E-prix in Seoul additionally ended an period for the FIA-sanctioned sequence, with season 9 in 2023 introducing a brand new technology of faster, lighter and extra energy-efficient automobiles.

Former McLaren F1 racer Vandoorne began fourth and ended up second in Sunday’s race in and across the South Korean capital’s Olympic stadium to take his first championship 33 factors away from Mitch Evans in a Jaguar.

New Zealander Evans, who had received from third on Saturday to shut the hole to 21 factors, completed seventh after qualifying solely thirteenth for a race he needed to win whereas hoping Vandoorne completed outdoors the highest seven.

“This is amazing; what a season it’s been. It’s just the best feeling ever … what we’ve accomplished is something special,” Vandoorne stated.

“It was really about consistency at the end,” added the 30-year-old, who took the title regardless of successful fewer races than Evans and Swiss-Italian Edoardo Mortara, Sunday’s winner for the Venturi staff and third total.

Vandoorne received solely as soon as in 2022, in Monaco, with Evans and Mortara taking 4 every.

Britain’s Jake Dennis was third on Sunday for Avalanche Andretti after being second on the highway however accumulating a five-second penalty for inflicting a collision that dropped pole-sitter Antonio Felix da Costa to the again of the pack.

Mercedes EQ, who retained their staff title forward of Venturi and DS Techeetah, have offered their outfit to McLaren and depart Formula E on a excessive after sealing each championships for the second yr in a row.

They received final yr’s drivers’ title with Dutch racer Nyck de Vries.

Leave a Comment