Robert Glasper & String Section Join Dave Matthews Band At Hollywood Bowl

Watch highlights from the tour nearer in Los Angeles, together with violinist Ann Marie Simpson on “Tripping Billies.”

By Scott Bernstein Sep 21, 2022 7:42 am PDT

Dave Matthews Band closed their summer season tour on Tuesday with their second of two guest-filled live shows at Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles. Once once more, DMB was augmented by a string part for a portion of a present that additionally featured acclaimed keyboardist Robert Glasper sitting in for a music and violinist Ann Marie Simpson including to the ultimate tune of the primary set.

The septet kicked off the night with their first “Samurai Cop (Oh Joy Begin)” opener. “Rooftop” got here subsequent forward of a tackle Daniel Lanois “The Maker,” Stand Up gem “Louisiana Bayou” and “Fool To Think” off 2001’s Everyday. Oldies “Crush” and “What Would You Say” have been then break up by the year-old authentic “The Ocean And The Butterfly.”

Robert Glasper was the band’s first visitor of the night. Glasper joined Buddy Strong in keyboard world for a +20-minute “Seek Up.” The famend jazz musician/producer took a powerful piano solo earlier than guitarist Tim Reynolds delivered a wild solo of his personal to finish the music. DMB then went it alone for a canopy of Peter Gabriel’s “Sledgehammer” and classics “Dancing Nancies” and “Warehouse.”

Last evening’s tour nearer continued with a section that includes a string part carried out by Dave Campbell. The 11-piece ensemble consisted of Simpson (violin), Adrienne Woods (cello), Joel Derouin (violin), Joel Pargman (violin), Kathleen Robertson (violin), Mark Cargill (violin), Michele Richards (violin), Oliver Kraus (cello), Peggy Baldwin (cello), Rodney Wirtz (viola) and Tom Lea (viola) as per DMB Almanac. Dave Matthews was joined by the strings for his just lately debuted music “Something To Tell My Baby.” The remainder of DMB then got here again for a partial “What You Are” interlude that gave solution to a string-fueled “Drive In Drive Out.”

Dave Matthews Band and the strings appeared to 2012’s Away From The World subsequent for “If Only.” The strings caught round for tour staple “MadMan’s Eyes.” From there, the septet provided “So Damn Lucky” with none company. Then, Ann Marie Simpson from the string part got here again out for the set-closing “Tripping Billies.” Simpson, a good friend from DMB’s formative days in Virginia, performed numerous the fiddle licks initially carried out on the music by Boyd Tinsley.

A paired-down DMB lineup consisting of Matthews, Reynolds, drummer Carter Beauford and trumpeter Rashawn Ross started Tuesday’s encore with “Sister.” The remainder of the band then returned for “Two Step” to shut the present and tour. Dave Matthews Band launches a fall tour in Vancouver on November 2.

Watch a collection of fan-shot movies from final evening’s live performance beneath:

Seek Up w/ Robert Glasper

Something To Tell My Baby w/ String Section


Tripping Billies w/ Ann Marie Simpson


S: Samurai Cop (Oh Joy Begin), Rooftop, The Maker, Louisiana Bayou, Fool to Think, Crush, The Ocean and the Butterfly, What Would You Say, Seek Up*, Sledgehammer, Dancing Nancies » Warehouse, Something to Tell My Baby**, What You Are [partial]** » Drive In Drive Out**, If Only**, Madman’s Eyes**, So Damn Lucky, Tripping Billies^

Encore: Sister, Two Step

  • * – w/ Robert Glasper
  • ** – w/ String Section
  • ^ – w/ Ann Marie Simpson

Leave a Comment