Who is seeking election in Oro-Medonte, Ramara and Severn?

Check out our rundown of who is working for mayor, deputy mayor and council in the townships surrounding Orillia

The three present mayors of the three townships surrounding Orillia are every seeking re-election in the upcoming municipal election.

Friday was the deadline to file papers to run in the Oct. 24 election. 

Here’s a breakdown of who’s working for what place in the townships that encompass Orillia.


There might be a battle for the highest job in Oro-Medonte. 

Incumbent Mayor Harry Hughes is seeking his fifth straight time period on the township’s helm. He was acclaimed in 2014, however eked out a slim victory in 2018 in opposition to rivals John Crawford and Sandy Agnew. This time round, he’ll be going through Randy Greenlaw, who is wrapping up his first time period as Ward 5 councillor.

There might be different adjustments across the council desk as this time round, no deputy mayor might be elected. Instead, the township has determined to maneuver from 5 wards to 6 wards.

In Ward 1, Zoe Rowe-Watson and Lori Hutchison are seeking to symbolize the world’s constituents. Incumbent Ian Veitch determined to not search re-election.

In Ward 2, incumbent Tammy DeSousa is being challenged by John Bard and Eric Pattenden.

Incumbent Cathy Keane is seeking re-election in Ward 3 in opposition to David Clark and Sean Power.

In Ward 4, incumbent Shawn Scott might be trying to return to the council desk. He is being opposed by Peter Lavoie.

In Ward 5, Rick Schell, Ryan McKnight and Gene Stein are hoping to win the seat vacated by Greenlaw.

In the brand new Ward 6, Mikhaela Beerman, Robert Ryan Cardwell and Robert J. Young are vying for the chance to serve constituents.

Three are in the working to be the Simcoe County District School Board trustee representing Oro-Medonte: Liz Grummett, Christina Meredith, and Leeann Pendleton. Incumbent trustee Peter Beacock is not seeking re-election.

Ramara Township

Basil Clarke is seeking a 3rd time period as mayor in Ramara Township and he’ll face a well-recognized foe: Marg Sharpe.

In the final municipal election in 2018, Clarke narrowly gained the mayor’s job, eking out a 14-vote victory over Sharpe, who beforehand was a councillor in the township. A recount upheld the vote. Russ Cole is additionally vying for the mayor’s job.

Current Deputy Mayor Joseph Gough is additionally seeking re-election and might be up in opposition to Keith Bell and Dave Readman.

In Ward 1, it seems incumbent David Snutch might be acclaimed to the put up as the one different candidate, Mary Ailene Reed, withdrew from the race.

In Ward 2, Jennifer Fisher might be asking voters to present her one other time period. Connie (Carrick) Laughlin is additionally working to be a council member in the ward.

Ted Lamb is seeking re-election in Ward 3 and is opposed by Dana Tuju.

In Ward 4, incumbent Gary Hetherington might be seeking votes alongside his fellow candidates Richard Black and Glenn Harrington. 

There might be a brand new face on the council desk in Ward 5 as Kal Johnson has determined to not search re-election. There are two candidates vying for the job — and each reside on the identical avenue. Voters might be requested to decide on between Sherri Bell and Georgina (Georgi) Jennings.

Severn Township

Mike Burkett, first elected in 2010, is seeking his fourth time period as mayor of the township and, after being acclaimed in 2018, he might be vying for votes in opposition to Mark Gibbons this time round.

The race for deputy mayor might be attention-grabbing as two longtime politicians might be going head-to-head. Incumbent Jane Dunlop might be going through Judith Cox, presently the Ward 2 councillor.

In Ward 1, Mark Taylor is acclaimed.

In Ward 2, Cox’s determination to problem Dunlop means there might be a brand new face on the council desk. There are 4 in the working in the ward: Colin Bidmead, Jessica Gunby, Dan Janssen and Geraldine Taylor-Cook.

Philip Brennan is acclaimed in Ward 3.

Longtime councillor and former Orillia and Severn mayor Ron Stevens is not seeking re-election in Ward 4. Michael Hansen and Wanda Minnings will face off to see who would be the new face on the council desk in the ward.

Jim McIntyre is acclaimed in Ward 5.

Wondering who is working for metropolis council and mayor in Orillia? Click right here to learn our story.

The listing of candidates is anticipated to be licensed by town clerk’s workplace on Monday.

Candidate profiles and different election-related information will also be seen on OrilliaIssues’ municipal election web page by clicking right here.

Leave a Comment